For Holy Thursday, I thought I’d reblog this entry…

A Time-Traveler's Blog

A few years ago, I went on a summer retreat to Mater Dolorosa, in California’s Sierra Madre Mountains. There, in the company of writer friends, we enjoyed an invigorating and scenic escape from our everyday lives.

After a session one evening, instead of going to sleep, I went outside and sat on a bench. The sky was brilliant with stars and the night air was perfectly chilly. And I felt completely alone and out of place all of a sudden.

Thousands of miles from my East Coast home, and about a year before I moved to Los Angeles, I looked down onto the valley below and saw all the distant lights from buildings that made the landscape look like a big glowing, sunken birthday cake. I imagined all the happy lives going on down there, and I saw all my seeming limitations and obstacles and losses and unfulfilled dreams.

At…

View original post 889 more words

Leave a Reply

