While Watching “ARGO”…

SAG AFTRA

After my mom and the birds went to sleep last night, I started watching “ARGO.” My mom, though, woke up in the middle of it, so I paused the movie and went back to her room and sat there on her bed, talking with her for a while.

Battling dementia, she often gets confused at night, and thought it was morning already. I told her no, I was just up late watching movies to vote on.

“To vote on?” she asked with interest.

“Yep, they send me free movies so I can vote on the best actors.”

“You do that?” she asked, growing more interested. (My mom has always loved movies, even though she hardly went to the theatre. She did when she was younger, but preferred watching them on television.)

I showed her all the mailings and the screeners (we had already watched “Les Miserables” together) and my SAG-AFTRA card.

“See, Mom?” I belong to the acting union.”

“Really? How long?” she asked, as she carefully took my card and held it like gold.

“Oh a few years now.”

She smiled in wonder at me and looked back at the card, then through the mailings. It might sound cliche to say there was a sparkle in her eye, but there was. ; ) I could tell how proud she was of me, just being in the union. She mentioned that she liked my professional name, and then she said, “The next step is to act, not just vote.”

“Yes, Mom.” I smiled, knowing she probably had forgotten about most of my past projects, mostly theatre. “And one day I’ll have my own production company too. And not only act, but write and direct.”

She smiled and said how wonderful that would be; my mom’s always been good with business, and I always thought she should’ve had her own company.

I tried to turn out the light to help her go back to sleep, but she insisted on keeping it on for a while longer.

When I checked on her again, she was still smiling and looking at my union card, the mailings, the screeners…

Actually, I think my mom thinks I’m part of the Academy Awards… And that’s fine with me. ; ) Maybe one day I’ll be up there thanking her from the podium, remembering her pride in a daughter who’s always been a bit of late-bloomer…

Sometimes it’s that pride we see in a parent’s eyes that makes us want to live to our fullest potential, to live with purpose and passion and to make dreams we shared with them come true.

And I think it’s that way with God also… Even if good parents weren’t close to us, there is a Heavenly One who wants to be…who gazes at us all the time and thinks we’re cherished diadems… And who wants us to share what’s in our hearts with Him, the One who fashioned our hearts and knows us better then we know ourselves. I think He’s just waiting for us to include Him more in our lives…

And for those of us who haven’t seen the fruit of our work yet, it’s not over ’til it’s over. ; )

Just like my mom believes I can do anything I set my mind to, our Heavenly Father believes we can achieve more than seems possible…

Because with Him, anything is possible!

P.S. — Watch “Argo,” a true story that flips what seems impossible on its head. ; )

6 thoughts on “While Watching “ARGO”…

  1. I loved this post. Thanks for sharing that moment with us. Of course your Mom is proud! Use your votes wisely to represent! 🙂

  2. I really enjoyed reading about you and Mom. I know she is very proud of you and so am I. You are a very special person and I admire the way you have always known what you wanted and went after it with a lot of schooling and hard work. I love you and I am so happy that you are my sister.

Leave a Reply

