Bug, Shadow, and Birthday Cake


I call this “A Bug and His Shadow.” Saw him on the patio siding after watering the plants this evening, so took a picture. Cute little thing. Glad he’s not a mosquito. Not sure what he is, but he’s not a mosquito.

It’s so hot here (got to 100 degrees F — with a heat index of 115 today), all the bugs want inside too… Thank God for helping Willis Haviland Carrier to invent the air-conditioner in the early 1900s.

I didn’t grow up with air-conditioning. Well, we had one unit in the family room, and that was it. And that only cooled that one room. For the other rooms, we used fans. I think it was sometime after I graduated from college that Mom finally decided to put central air in her house; and I think she later counted that as a very wise investment. ; )

I remember one sweltering summer, celebrating my July-born sister’s birthday, with cake in the kitchen. There was that deliciously iced birthday cake with candles lit. And there we were glistening (Southern woman glisten, we don’t sweat ; ) as we quickly sang and counted the seconds to get out of there and head for the air-conditioned room. Why we didn’t have the cake in that room is anybody’s guess now. But anyway…

After the birthday song, my sister let my little niece help blow out the candles. And when she did, the frosting parted. I kid you not. The frosting actually spread. Maybe not down to the cake part, but there was a long row of dented-by-breath frosting from one end of the cake to the other. That was indeed a super-hot Southern day. And my niece was upset because she thought she “broke the cake.” ; )

2 thoughts on “Bug, Shadow, and Birthday Cake

  1. I love the use of “glistening.” My grandfather hated people who used “sweat.” Horses sweat, people perspire. My sister’s got a birthday this week too. We are twins in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

