Lemon Squares


This is what I made last week in the middle of a string of overcast, rainy, thunder-storm-touched days.

I like to bake. Sugar is toxic, but I like to bake. Sugar makes me tired and makes my thinking foggy. But still, I like to bake. And cook.

I try to stay away from sweets as much as possible. But once in a while, you just have to have a bite of sweetness. When I’m really good, though, I’ll just use liquid stevia in my hot tea and that does the trick. Just enough to satisfy my taste buds.

Stay away from these squares if you can. They’re really bad for you. But oh so good. Maybe one square wouldn’t hurt ya though. With a hot cup of tea and liquid stevia. ; )

1 cup of flour
1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
1/4 cup powdered sugar

“Sift flour and sugar into bowl. Blend in butter with clean fingertips until well mixed. Pat evenly into the bottom of an 8 x 8 inch baking pan. Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.”

Beat together the following:
2 eggs
1 cup granulated sugar (go with the organic)
1/2 tsp. baking powder
2 1/2 tbsp. fresh lemon juice (go with the organic lemons for a better taste — plus increase it by 1 tbsp. for more of a lemon bite)
Dash of salt

“Pour over baked crust and return to oven for 20-25 minutes at same temperature.

Cool on rack. Cut in squares. Sprinkle with sifted, powdered sugar.”

(Found this recipe, “Lucy’s Lemon Squares,” in the Peanuts Cookbook. But I added the organic and extra-lemon-juice part. ; )

3 thoughts on “Lemon Squares

  1. 1) I had that Peanuts cookbook. Where is it now?

    2) I love these!

    3) since I don’t like sweeteners in tea I guess I can get away with the occasional lemon square.

Leave a Reply

